Hello friends! I hope your summer was fantastic and you’re looking forward to starting this new school year. I’m very excited to announce that this is my first official blog post as a Glendon eAmbassador!!!

Image result for gif happy

I’m super stoked to be a part of this team, especially because it is one of the main reasons why I chose to attend Glendon. I knew I wanted to give back and show prospective students what a hidden gem this school is.

Anyway, without further ado, I’d like to talk about my personal experience as a D-Frosh (the Glendon term for Frosh Leader). So, we all know how magical frosh week is. Granted, it’s not mandatory but it is HIGHLY recommended because it helps new students ease into university by allowing them to meet new friends, get to know Toronto for those who are new to the city, get oriented with the campus and most importantly, to have fun! The transition to university/new school/new city/new country can definitely be daunting and we want to help everyone out in the process so they know that they are not alone and they are a part of the Glendon family. No matter who you are and where you come from, you have a place here.

Although I loved my experience as a Froshie last year and thought that the D-Frosh were the coolest, most amazing people on the planet, I hesitated handing in my application because I wasn’t confident in my leadership abilities. Being the textbook introvert that I am, the thought of being around people and loud noise all the time didn’t really sound like the best idea. Despite being on the fence about the whole thing, I knew that I would regret it so much more if I didn’t apply so for the sake of my future self’s sanity, I just went for it. Looking back, I’m very proud of myself for stepping out of my comfort zone, and I ended up loving my experience as a leader; knowing that in some way, somehow, I was part of a team that gave their all to create a welcoming atmosphere for the upcoming students.

I also met a lot of people along the way and got closer to some friends I made last year but didn’t see a lot because of schedule conflicts and it eased my own transition to my second year, so I’m thankful for that. I also want to give a shoutout to my lovely Purple Team Peeps (which happens to be my favourite colour). I really enjoyed working with y’all and getting to know each and every one of you. I wish you all the best this year and hope we stay in touch <3.

 

IMG_4132
PURPLE WHAT?! PURPLE POWER!!! PURPLE WHAT?! PURPLE CRUSH!!!

 

Overall, I feel as though when people hear the word ‘Frosh’ they think endless partying and loud noise 24/7. While that may be true in some cases, that’s not really what it’s all about. To me, Frosh is all about making a connection with your fellow students, and feeling at home in your new school. It’s that magical moment when you’re all cheering and showing your school spirit (which Glendon has a lot of by the way). It’s knowing that you’re not alone and that if you ever need help, emotionally, mentally, physically, spiritually, or whatever it is, there are many resources on campus that you can turn to.

Of course I have to give a shoutout to our President, Brandon, and O-Chairs, Gelila and Jon for organizing all the Frosh events. Without y’all, this week would not have been possible and we can’t thank you enough for all the hard work you put into making it the most LIT experience ever. It has been yet another amazing Frosh Week Glendon! Just because Frosh is over doesn’t mean the fun ends 😉